Three scientists win Nobel for ‘click’ chemistryon October 5, 2022 at 10:34 am

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Their work on linking molecules like in living cells can be used in cancer treatment drugs.

Breaking News image

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry has gone to Carolyn Bertozzi, Morton Meldal, and Barry Sharpless for their work on snipping molecules together, known as click chemistry.

The winners will share prize money of 10 million Swedish krona (£800,000).

Their work is used to explore cells and track biological processes, and can be applied in cancer treatment drugs.

“Click” chemistry is about linking together molecules like those in living cells.

The Nobel committee praised their work for making chemistry functional and said they had an enormous impact on science.

“This year’s prize deals with not overcomplicating matters, instead working with what is easy and simple,” says Johan Åqvist, chair of the Nobel Committee for Chemistry.

Barry Sharpless has now won the Nobel Prize twice. The first time was in 2001 for chiral catalysts.

Carolyn Bertozzi, who pioneered the work on bioorthogonal chemistry, is the eighth woman to win the Chemistry Nobel.

Last year’s award also went to two scientists who developed tools for building molecules.

On Monday, the committee gave the Physiology or Medicine prize to Svante Paabo for work on human evolution.

Tuesday’s Nobel Prize in Physics rewarded research into quantum mechanics – the science that describes nature at the smallest scales.

Presentational grey line

Previous winners of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Molecules - limonene

Image source, Nobel Prize

2021 – Benjamin List and David MacMillan won the prize for their work on building molecules that are mirror images of one another.

2020 – Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer Doudna received the award for developing the tools to edit DNA.

2019 – John B Goodenough, M Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino share the prize for their work on lithium-ion batteries.

2018 – Discoveries about enzymes earned Frances Arnold, George P Smith and Gregory Winter the prize

2017 – Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson were awarded the prize for improving images of biological molecules

2016 – Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Fraser Stoddart and Bernard Feringa shared the prize for the making machines on a molecular scale.

2015 – Discoveries in DNA repair earned Tomas Lindahl and Paul Modrich and Aziz Sancar the award.

- Advertisement -




Ancient Rome: Stunningly preserved bronze statues found in Italyon November 9, 2022 at 1:51 am

The discovery of 24 statues thought to be around 2,300 years old may "rewrite history", an expert says.Image source, EPAItalian archaeologists have unearthed 24...

Ralf Rangnick: Manchester United set to appoint German on six-month contracton November 25, 2021 at 3:43 pm

Manchester United agree a deal to appoint German Ralf Rangnick as interim manager on a six-month contract.

Derriford Hospital: Woman dies in helicopter landing incidenton March 4, 2022 at 10:37 pm

The woman in her 80s is killed after an incident involving a helicopter landing at Derriford Hospital.A woman in her 80s has died after...

Ukraine backs UN call for nuclear plant safe zoneon September 7, 2022 at 3:35 am

The UN nuclear agency said Russian military equipment at the Zaporizhzhia plant undermines security.Image source, Getty ImagesUkrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky has welcomed calls by...

Elections 2021: Labour insiders on Starmer, what went wrong and how to fix iton May 7, 2021 at 1:42 pm

Sir Keir Starmer took charge of Labour a year ago and has faced his first challenge at the polls.image copyrightEPAEver since his election as...